Winter’s Coming: Managing COVID-19
There have been a variety of changes as we continue to understand and gauge the impact and spread of Coronavirus. We want to post updated information and urge you to pause at this time, assess your policies and practices, determine if there are changes to be made based on what has been working well and what is still unclear, decide what additional trainings need to happen if any, and explore how you communicate any changes to your employees and managers.
Some of the significant change and adjustments include:
- In the State of Michigan, the previous Executive Orders signed by Governor Whitmer have been rescinded; MDHHS and MIOSHA have published Epidemic Orders and guidance that uphold all previously established guidelines and requirements for businesses.
- The CDC has updated the definition of close contact and has been adjusted to: Someone who was within 6 feet of an infected person for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or more over a 24-hour period* starting from 2 days before illness onset (or, for asymptomatic patients, 2 days prior to test specimen collection) until the time the patient is isolated.
- For the State of Michigan, guidance has been provided for returning to work after having COVID or having close contact with someone with COVID. Please note that in Michigan, a negative COVID-19 test is no longer acceptable for early return to work from quarantine.
Most importantly, it orders that employees who test positive for COVID-19 or display the principal symptoms of COVID-19 shall not report to work until all of the following 3 conditions are met:
- 24 hours have passed since the fever has stopped without the use of fever-reducing medicines (if the employee has a fever); and
- 10 days have passed since either of the following, whichever is later:
– The date the employee’s symptoms first appeared or
– The date the employee tested positive for COVID-19; and
- The employee’s principal symptoms of COVID-19 have improved
The law also orders an employee who has been in close contact with someone who tests positive for COVID-19 or displays the principal symptoms of COVID-19 shall not report to work until 1of the following conditions are met:
- 14 days have passed since the employee last had close contact with the person; or
- The person with whom the employee had close contact receives a medical determination that they did not have COVID-19 at the time of close contact.
(Above information obtained from Dickenson Wright)
The following links are helpful to reference on an ongoing basis to ensure that your current practices and policies align with best practices and recommendations at the state and federal levels.
Returning to work after COVID
Mistakes to Avoid for Employers, provided by Dinsmore
Rescinded EO’s but MIOSHA and MDHHS
- Dickinson-Wright Michigan Advise
- MDHHS Epidemic Order 10-9-20
- MIOSHA Emergency Rules
- MDHHS Epidemic Order
Business Guidance from the State
- MIOSHA Reopening Checklist
- Workplace Safety for Employers
- Workplace Safety for Employees
- CDC Guidance Businesses and Workplaces
- If employees are travelling, the recommendation would be revised travel policy to include statement that if there are % positivity over 10% that an employee will be required to quarantine for 14 days (since a negative test is no longer acceptable in Michigan). Use this map for % Positivity
Download the following flyers for your use: